The Little Things – 365 Days of Writings Prompts

Prompt Date: May 3rd

Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that
defines your world but is often overlooked.

One little thing that I love but is often overlooked is, well, my mother. She has made me who I am, and she has loved me and supported me. I hope this doesn’t turn into one of those sob stories about how I love my mother so much and she is so great and she is the best person in the world and all that.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my mom. Although, it feels like I don’t appreciate her as much as I need to. Sure, I tell her I love her, but it feels like I do it just because she gives me stuff. I tell myself I love her because of all the things she has done for me, but I feel like I don’t tell her enough.

And, following the prompt, I’ll describe her. My mom is hard-working, and usually, when she is determined to do something, she gets it done. My mother and father were focusing on working on a new room. My mom kept asking him to finish it with her, and he said he’d get it done. He didn’t do it when he said he would, so my mom kept telling him to help her finish it up. Not long later, the room was finished.

I would give more examples, but that would take a lot of space. Overall, my mom is diligent, nice, forgiving, caring, compassionate, and a few other words that I don’t know how to say in words.

I’m sorry mom, for not appreciating you as much as I do. Thanks for all you’ve done.

(I said it wouldn’t be a sob story, but I guess it kinda did.)

Leave a Reply

